Compare · Cherry vs fomo
fomo app alternatives: social trading apps with group chat
Six fomo app alternatives for traders who want DMs and group chat where the trade happens: dm.fun, Cherry, Towns, Coinbase Wallet, Farcaster, Telegram.
This fomo app alternative list is for traders who use fomo (fomo.family), the social crypto trading app, and want a place to talk with the people they trade with; it is not about Fomo, the social-proof widget for online stores. fomo’s social layer is a feed: follow traders, read their theses, climb leaderboards, join clans. As of September 2026 it has announced no DMs or group chat. The six options below answer one question: where does the trade happen, and can you talk to the person who made it. Cherry (cherry.fun) is one of them, a wallet-to-wallet messenger for crypto: sign in with a wallet, DM any wallet address, join or create token-gated, NFT-gated and paid group chats, and swap inside the chat.
How we picked
Five criteria, each about whether a trade and the argument around it live in one thread. DMs: can you message a specific trader, and is it encrypted. Group chat: public, private, and gated by what a wallet holds. Trading in the chat: a ticker becomes a chart and a buy button. Wallet model: your own wallet, or one the app makes. Chains: what the trading and the identity cover.
What fomo does, and where it stops
fomo calls itself “a trading app for the rest of us”, and the trading side is broad: one USDC balance across six chains with no bridging (Ethereum added May 21 2026, Robinhood Chain July 9 2026); Apple Pay onboarding; 0.05% fees on majors, which fomo put at $5 on a $10K SOL buy against $184.05 at Coinbase (May 5 2026); and perps on crypto, equities and commodities through Hyperliquid and trade.xyz since June 11 2026, not for US persons. At its $75M Series B on June 22 2026 it reported 625K+ users and $4B+ volume, then “approaching 2m+ users” on August 31 2026.
The social side is one-to-many: a feed of what top traders buy, theses attached to positions, leaderboards, dev tags for project teams (August 14 2026) and clans, squads with a shared leaderboard (August 10 2026; 150+ by September 1 2026). fomo has announced no DMs, group chat or third-party apps as of September 2026; its AMAs run in its Discord, about 20.3K members in May 2026.
What fomo wins: it reported 68K+ first-time crypto buyers coming through Apple Pay by June 22 2026.
dm.fun
Every Solana token gets a dm.fun room the second the CA exists, with a chart, a buy bot and one-tap swaps, so there is no “find the official Telegram” step. Moderation is kick and ban, slow mode and chat lock (December 4 2025); gating is a SOL-balance requirement, shipped with DMs and private groups on March 4 2026. dm.fun, from Matrica Labs, listed on the Solana dApp Store on December 18 2025 and went officially live on web, Seeker, iOS and Android on May 21 2026, with USDC alpha groups and Polymarket markets in the app and embedded wallets from Privy.
fomo vs dm.fun is the comparison traders ask for, and the two are structural opposites: fomo is trading-first with a feed on top and multichain; dm.fun is chat-first with trading inside, Solana only, and smaller: it reported 2,000+ new users over its launch weekend (May 26 2026) and 150K messages (June 15 2026).
Fit: a memecoin trader who wants the room for a CA to exist without setup. Weak fit: anyone who wants their own wallet as identity, gating beyond a SOL balance, or a community reachable outside one app. Cherry vs dm.fun goes row by row; dm.fun alternatives takes the community-owner angle.
Cherry
Cherry, built by Cherry Technologies, S.A., puts the trade inside the message. Type $ and a ticker, or paste a contract address, and the message renders a token card with price and market cap from Jupiter token search; Buy opens a Jupiter Swap modal on web, and on iOS Swap and Buy are outbound links to Jupiter and MoonPay, to satisfy App Store rules. Turn on the call bot and it prices every ticker posted against its later peak, ranking the room’s best calls by multiplier and crediting the earliest caller. Badges from trading volume and PnL show on profiles.
Perps and tokenized stocks live in the Trading Terminal mini app and prediction markets in the Polymarket mini app, rooms of 160 and 978 members on 11 September 2026. Trading Terminal spot swaps carry a 0.5% fee as of 11 September 2026, ten times fomo’s quoted 0.05% on majors.
The chat side is why Cherry is on this list. DMs go to any wallet address or .sol / .skr name, end-to-end encrypted with keys derived from your wallet; a cold DM sits in Requests silently unless the sender pays 0.01 SOL (the default on 11 September 2026) to have it delivered with a notification. Group chats are not end-to-end encrypted, by design, so mods and bots can read what they moderate. Rooms are gated by seven rule types Cherry checks on-chain, including a minimum wallet balance or trading volume, re-verified in the background (token-gated chat
); paid rooms
charge SOL entry or a USDC subscription, the owner keeping 70% as of 10 September 2026. Cherry ranked #1 on the Solana dApp Store with 4.8 stars from 4,000+ reviews as of September 2026.
Fit: a trader who wants the call, the argument about it and the buy in one thread, with the wallet holding the bags as the identity. Weak fit: someone who wants Apple Pay onboarding and the cheapest trade on majors.
Towns
Towns is an onchain group chat app on Base from Towns Labs, on its own node network. Every Town is minted on-chain, every membership is an NFT, and each account gets an embedded wallet, with WalletConnect for external wallets since November 25 2025. Trading is in the chat: a ticker or address gives a chart and a buy on Base and Solana tokens (April 3 2025), and Town owners earn 0.25% of trades in their Town (June 13 2025). Hyperliquid perps arrived on December 11 2025, Polymarket bets on January 5 2026, and a March 2026 leaderboard shows members’ live positions to copy. Memberships are priced in USDC, one-off or recurring. Towns reported 450,000+ groups and 1.7M memberships on February 13 2026, flat on its August 2025 membership figure.
Fit: the closest match to Cherry in shape, for a Base-first group. Weak fit: a Solana trader, since Solana is a trading option there rather than an identity.
Coinbase Wallet (formerly Base App)
Coinbase rebranded Coinbase Wallet as Base App on July 16 2025, an “everything app” with a Farcaster-protocol feed, XMTP messaging, mini apps and a smart wallet at sign-up; Coinbase’s help center describes chat as XMTP one-to-one or groups of up to 250 people as of September 2026. The social bet did not hold. CoinDesk reported on July 15 2026 that Jesse Pollak had stepped back from Base App leadership after saying his crypto social strategy had failed, and on September 10 2026 Coinbase renamed the app back to Coinbase Wallet around trading, perps, tokenized stocks and prediction markets. That day the wallet.coinbase.com home page sold “crypto, stocks, commodities, predictions and perps” and did not mention chat or mini apps, and neither it nor the rebrand coverage says whether they survive the refocus; Coinbase’s help center still carried its chat page in September 2026.
Fit: a Base-first trader who wants an exchange’s self-custodial wallet with encrypted group chats, if chat survives the refocus. Cherry vs Base App tracks the change.
Farcaster
Farcaster is a decentralized social network with a public feed of casts, an embedded wallet, mini apps and the Clanker launchpad, operated by Neynar since January 23 2026. In 2025 it ran trader-first: 0% swap fees on Solana and 0.15% on Base (August 2025), Top Traders and shareable PnL cards (November 2025), and 100K daily active users, as Farcaster reported in October 2025. Neynar’s January 2026 vision demoted trading (“Traders can continue to trade, no changes to the wallet”) and reframed Farcaster as a network for builders. DMs exist and channels are topic feeds; rooms do not feature.
Fit: a trader who wants a public audience on an open protocol and accepts that its operator demoted trading. Weak fit: anyone who wants a room. Farcaster alternatives covers the chat-first options.
Telegram trading groups
Most crypto trading chat groups still run on Telegram, the baseline for every app above. Identity is a display name, so the chat cannot tell a holder from a tourist; verification means a verify bot or a screenshot, trading happens elsewhere, PnL arrives as an image, and scam DMs impersonate admins. dm.fun’s founding line was “delete your telegram groups” (November 11 2025).
Fit: the largest audience and the lowest trust. If your group needs to know who holds before it lets them in, gating checked by the app is the difference.
Side by side
“Not stated” means the company has made no public statement either way as of September 2026; dates are in the sections above.
| Row | fomo | dm.fun | Cherry | Towns | Coinbase Wallet | Farcaster |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chains | 6, incl. Solana, Base | Solana only | Solana, Base, Ethereum, BSC, Robinhood | Base; trades Solana too | Ethereum, Base, Solana, +8 | Base-first, plus Solana |
| Wallet | App-created, key export | Privy embedded | Bring your own; no KYC | Embedded; WalletConnect | Smart wallet | Embedded |
| DMs | Not stated | Yes; encryption not stated | End-to-end encrypted | Yes; end-to-end claimed | XMTP, to 250 | Yes; not stated |
| Group chat | Clans; no chat announced | Per CA; private groups | Public, private, gated, paid | Channels, voice | XMTP groups | Channels are feeds |
| Gating | Not stated | SOL balance | 7 rule types, on-chain | NFT, token, creator coin | Not stated | Not stated |
| Paid memberships | Not stated | USDC alpha groups | SOL or USDC; owner 70% | USDC; owner ~90% (2025) | Not stated | Pro, for users |
| In-chat trading | Feed, not chat | Swaps, buy bot | Token card, Swap modal, call bot | Chart and buy; owner earns 0.25% | Not stated | Swap comments |
| Perps and predictions | Hyperliquid, trade.xyz; non-US | Polymarket | Polymarket and Trading Terminal mini apps | Hyperliquid, Polymarket | In the wallet | Not stated |
Which one to pick
The rule is feed follower versus chat-first trader. If “social” means watching what better traders buy and climbing a leaderboard, stay on fomo. If it means arguing about a call with five people and buying from the same thread, you need a chat app with the trade inside, and the next question is which chain your identity lives on.
- Stay on fomo if you buy with Apple Pay, trade six chains from one balance or need perps on equities.
- Choose dm.fun for one Solana memecoin at a time, with its room and buy bot the second the CA exists.
- Choose Cherry if you want DMs to any wallet, a room gated on holdings or trading volume, a call-bot leaderboard and swaps from the chat, with the wallet you already use.
- The rest split by chain: Towns for a Base-first group that wants perps and bets in the thread, Coinbase Wallet if chat survived the rename, Farcaster for a public audience over a room.
To try the chat-first side, open chat.cherry.fun
, connect a wallet and type $ followed by a ticker in any room. For a row-by-row read, see Cherry vs fomo
and DM a wallet address
.
FAQ
Does fomo have group chat or DMs?
Not as of September 10 2026. fomo’s home page leads with a feed, a leaderboard and alerts, its social features are theses, follows, dev tags and clans, and it has announced no DMs or group chat; its AMAs run in its Discord, about 20.3K members in May 2026.
fomo vs dm.fun: which one is closer to a group chat?
dm.fun. It is a Solana-only chat app from Matrica Labs with a room for every token contract address, DMs and private groups since March 4 2026, and USDC alpha groups since its May 21 2026 launch. fomo is a multichain trading app with a feed on top, and much larger: it reported 625K+ users in June 2026.
What is a crypto trading group chat?
A room where members post calls and trade from the same thread. On Cherry, a ticker or contract address renders a token card, Buy opens a Jupiter Swap modal on web, the call bot ranks calls by peak multiplier, and the room can be gated by what a wallet holds, checked on-chain.
What are the best social trading apps on Solana in 2026?
For Solana in September 2026: fomo (a feed and clans), dm.fun (a chat per Solana token), Cherry (chat with swaps, plus perps and tokenized stocks via the Trading Terminal mini app and prediction markets via the Polymarket mini app), Towns (Base chat that trades Solana tokens), and the Base-first Coinbase Wallet and Farcaster.
Is there a social trading app on Solana with chat built in?
Yes. dm.fun opens a chat for every Solana contract address with swaps inside it, and Cherry lets you DM any Solana wallet address with end-to-end encryption and trade from any group chat, where a dollar sign and a ticker give a token card with a Buy button.
Is Cherry a fomo app alternative?
For the conversation, yes; for onboarding and fees, no. Cherry gives you DMs, gated and paid group chats, a call-bot leaderboard and swaps in the chat with the wallet you already use. fomo gives you Apple Pay, one USDC balance across six chains, 0.05% fees on majors and perps for non-US users.
Sources
- fomo
- dm.fun
- Towns
- Farcaster
- The Block on the Base App launch , 16 July 2025
- CoinDesk on Jesse Pollak stepping back from Base App , 15 July 2026
- The Block on the rename back to Coinbase Wallet and Decrypt on the rebrand , 10 September 2026
- The Crypto Times on Base App returning to Coinbase Wallet , 11 September 2026
- Coinbase Wallet and Coinbase Help: Chat on Base
- Trading Terminal on Cherry and Polymarket on Cherry
Try Cherry
Sign in with a wallet, DM any address, and join token-gated and paid communities. No phone number, email, or KYC.